Important: This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local, and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Close
Skip to main content.
All properties in Sorrento, Campania, Italy
1 room, 2 adults

Hotel Girasole

3-star3 stars
Corso Italia, 302, Sorrento, NA, 80067, Italy
  • Collect stampsYou can collect Hotels.com™ Rewards stamps here
8.2
Very Good95 All our reviews have come from real guests who have stayed at the property.verified guest
reviews
  • 10.0Value
    • Best value for money
  • 9.5Pool
    • Great pool
  • 8.1Location
    • Great location
    • Near city centre
  • 3.8Comfort
    • More comfort would be nice
Show more

What guests say

  • Near city centre
  • Great desserts & fruits
  • Pleasant hotel grounds
  • Clean hotel facilities

Narrow reviews:

95 verified guest reviews

Guest rating

8.0Very GoodCheck-in Sep. 13, 2018
Gardens were beautiful, the pool was perfect. Our window faced the garden and mountains, spectacular views. The proprietors were so nice and accommodating, ask for help and you get it
Paul4 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep. 1, 2017
Celebrating our 40th in Sorrento
After a long and tiring travel to Sorrento, we arrived late in evening at the Girasole Hotel. We were warmly greeted by the front desk staff who informed us that a cold meal was waiting for us in the room. Being hungry and tired, this was music to our ears. This warm welcome continued through the rest of our weeks stay. My wife and I really enjoyed the friendliness of the staff, the warm home like surroundings that were welcoming to any visitor. Girasole is a very cozy and warm place. This hotel is walking distance to the city center (10-15 min easy walk). The meals were very tasty and the drinks very reasonable. We had a fantastic time and would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a clean, family type and safe accommodations.
Jerry and Chris6 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review

The following English reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

8.0Very GoodCheck-in Oct. 11, 2019
good location, nice clean room, quick and easy check-in
2 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep. 19, 2019
Beautiful place with wonderful staff 😄
We were visiting Italy from Miami Fl . Our stay here was fabulous 😊 the front desk people were super friendly and extremely helpful! The property is beautiful with lemon and lime trees everywhere! Very large pool with great snacks and drinks . Free parking was a huge plus as parking can be very difficult. The property is located at the entrance of town so you are away from the chaos but only a 15 min walk to the center. I work for a hotel so my standards are pretty high and we would definitely return !
Donna3 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep. 14, 2019
Wonderful stay in Sorrento
We had an incredible stay at Hotel Girasole. The food, pool and room were lovely and it's in a great location to explore the Amalfi coast. I especially wanted to call out the receptionists for being so welcoming and friendly and going above and beyond to make sure we made the most of our stay; recommending transport, restaurants and places to visit.
Jack4 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Sep. 5, 2019
We had a great view swimming pool area is good and outside area good it is a bit dated though but staff really helpful.
9 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Aug. 26, 2019
very nice, clean hotel, pool was great. Room and bathroom were small, but it had a nice balcony which was a plus. Pretty far from center of Sorrento, could walk but not all the way were sidewalks and road was very busy with traffic.
6 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug. 22, 2019
Staff were really friendly and welcoming. The pool area was lovely and relaxing. Nothing was a bother to any of the employees.
4 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug. 6, 2019
We were lucky to spend 4 nights at the Hotel Girasole. A fabulous little hotel with lots of character. Situated on a busy road but when lying at the pool it couldn’t have been more relaxing. The staff were absolutely wonderful from first email contact to stepping through the door and couldn’t have done enough to help you. We had a fabulous family room on the 2nd floor which was split into two separate sleeping areas. Great view of the Bay of Naples from our balcony. Lunches by the pool were great, you must try ‘David’s Specials’. We enjoyed the Wednesday Pizza Party very much, with wonderful food and entertainment. The breakfasts and evening meals were fabulous as well and catered for Gluten Free. It was easy to walk to Sorrento about 15 - 20 mins with a slightly longer route avoiding the main road. Thank you so much for such a wonderful stay.
4 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul. 23, 2019
This is a family run hotel so nothing was too much trouble
8 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul. 24, 2019
Highly recommendable. The surroundings to the hotel is beautiful and it also has a pool people can enjoy. The breakfast is varied and staff is very friendly.
3 night family trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun. 6, 2019
Home away from home!
Everyone at Hotel Girasole was warm, especially one of the owners –Rita…such a beautiful & caring person. I twisted my ankle in Pompeii…Nino (one of the staff) & Rita were super nice by getting me icepack and medicine before my husband was able to go to the pharmacy. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable with a patio that looked over the beautiful garden, pool and mountains. The service was excellent…the owners & staff showed great pride for Girasole…HOSPITALITY at its BEST. This hotel is lovely for many reasons…the garden for everyone’s enjoyment was varied with many beautiful & interesting selections of plants. In the hallway of every floor, there were different themes of paintings/prints…like an art gallery. A nice size pool equipped with chairs and a bar to enjoy after a day’s excursion…that was well worth having…to cool down in the Summer…what a great amenity. Another great amenity at Girasole is the delicious FOOD. How awesome it is to know that one of the owners bake the pastries for breakfast. AND we thoroughly enjoyed the dinners offered. Every night is a different menu of excellent cuisine that is delicious & exquisite. Compliments to a great chef. The location is easily accessible to any point of interest. You just have to ask Rita and she will point you in the right direction. I totally recommend this hotel. In the future, we could easily use it as a hub & stay 2-3 weeks in beautiful & friendly Sorrento.
Yvette4 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jul. 4, 2019
Helpful staff, clean accommodation nice swimming pool. Our family size room had a large sitting area outside. The only downside was that the top bunk bed was really too hot to sleep in as it was directly below the warm air return. Other areas of the room were cooler. This was also an exceptionally hot time of the year so perhaps would not typically be a problem.
4 night trip
Verified Travelocity guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Jun. 29, 2019
The hotel was 15-20 mins away from the Piazza so definitely walkable. I loved having breakfast out in the garden and the fact that breakfast to go was made for me and my partner before we left to the airport early in the morning (6AM). That was super thoughtful and lovely!
J5 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun. 15, 2019
A Recommended Stay in Sorrento
Hotel Girasole is nicely placed a 15 minute walk from the centre of Sorrento and a five minute walk the other way to Sant Agnello. Although only small, Agnello has some nice bars and restaurants and is very handy if you don't want the walk the other way. Placed on the main road from Sorrento to Naples, some may find it a bit noisy but, as most of the hotels are situated along it, I'd take it as part of the Italian experience unless your budget can stretch to something a bit further back. The hotel staff were welcoming, friendly and always keen to offer travel advice. The continental breakfast is more than adequate although cooked food is available for a few euros extra. The grounds are excellent and the private pool really relaxing and quiet, although the rooms are a bit brown and drab. The showers are a little claustrophobic too and a larger person may struggle in them. The Pizza tasting night is worth staying in for though. I'd highly recommend this hotel but some might prefer a room at the back if you're not good with noise.
Peter7 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jun. 14, 2019
Very pleasant staff, nice clean rooms, lovely pool area. Breakfast a little disappointing. We knew it was going to be continental but it was mainly pastries with 1 type of cheese, plastic ham and salami. Would have been nice to have a choice of cheese and hams bearing in mind Italy is famous for them. Also no tomatoes which was a shame as they are beautiful. A bowl of tinned fruit. However would it stop me going back, no, we had a lovely time
5 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jun. 17, 2019
Very few rooms face the valley, and have a view. Others are simple rooms
3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jun. 12, 2019
LOCATION: east of Sorrento center about 18-20min walk away from Piazzo Tasso. We walked several times into town for dinner. Busy street with traffic but manageable. PROS: 1) outdoor pool: large, well-maintained, in middle of Lemon trees 2) Parkinf is included: this was a major factor for us since we had a rental car and drove to Pompeii/Ercolano and Amalfi Coast (I don’t recommend driving into Sorrento downtown due to limited parking)) 3) BREAKFAST: Continental breakfast with Saluki, cheese, yogurt, and pastries included. 4) ROOMS: decent size with A/C. There is a main building - where breakfast is served - and a smaller annex away from road and next to pool. We stayed in annex (quieter). CONS: 1) location is further from city center than I would have liked but the parking and pool were more important. 2) Sorrento has mosquitoes in summertime (not unique to hotel) so bring bug juice
3 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Jun. 9, 2019
The staff were friendly. The location wasn't central (15minutes walk to main train station), however it transpired that the best restaurant and our favourite bar,that we discovered were only 5 minutes down the road. The room had adequate storage space, but we didn't find the bed particularly comfortable.
4 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jun. 10, 2019
Good location
This hotel was in a great location. Walkable from local train station one way and town center the other way. They made great recommendation on a scooter rental, and allowed us to park it behind the gate. The room was spacious and clean. The plumbing worked, but was noisy. We unfortunately booked 1/2 board room. While the breakfasts were amazing, with lots of choices the dinners were just average at best. I would recommeded booking breakfast, but suggest you try some of the local restaurants which were amazing. I also thought it was a bit strange that we were required to rent pool towels for 3 euro pp and lounge chairs also 3 euro pp. However, pool area was pleasant and pool was refreshing.
Laura6 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Jun. 5, 2019
No Tea or Coffee making facilities in room, poor. Excellent staff both in reception and bar facilities
6 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in May 18, 2019
Hotel was very clean and had lovely gardens. Our room didnt have a balcony which would of been nice.
6 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 25, 2019
Great family reception and so helpful. Lovely pool and spacious family room with balcony/terrace with lovely views of mountains and citrus trees. Good breakfast selection and coffee machine. Close to town and a few nice eateries just down the road . Would love to come back again.
6 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in May 14, 2019
Friendly family run hotel. Very good food, with value for money evening meals provided if wanted. 20 minute walk into the town square but worth it. Very helpful brother and sister owners who helped with tours and our needs. This hotel was a very good base for our stay in Sorrento.
7 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 4, 2019
short family break
hotel was lovely, yes a little old fashioned in its décor but added to the charm. all staff were lovely and spoke excellent English and nothing was too much trouble. Just a short walk into the town. The bar area was cosy and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was excellent. Only stayed for a few days so ate out in town, I would recommend this hotel. good value for money.
Tracey3 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 2, 2019
Fabulous time
Kelly4 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar. 27, 2019
Great staff! Great location! Easy to find and parking was a bonus.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Rita
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your nice review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Mar. 1, 2019
Good location and friendly staff. Food was not so good though.
7 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by hotel girasole
Dear Friends Thank you very much for your review Best regards Rita
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct. 8, 2018
Comfortable hotel within 15 minute walking distance of train, bus station and centre of Sorrento.
7 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Rita
Thank you very much!
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Aug. 25, 2018
Beautiful Sorrento.
Hotel room 50, amazing view over the bay and of Vesuvius. What a vision every morning on opening balcony doors. Yes hotel on Main road but so are a lot of the bigger hotels on Sorrento as it’s a busy area. Traffic noise did not bother us. Breakfast sufficient, cold meats, eggs, toast, cereal & fruit. Lots of cake if you into that for breakfast choice. Room exceptionally clean, bathroom great. Rita on reception lovely, very helpful. Pool and gardens beautifully kept. Location 20 min walk to centre but we love walking so no problem. Road busy and a little bit of care needed on small road sections when walking. Loved our stay.
Helen10 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by rita
Dear Helen Thank yo very much thank you very much for your nice word
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Aug. 9, 2018
Happy stay
Very good,food good,staff very friendly,only problem was to many mosquitoes I was bitten lots of times I would recommend taking a very good repellent
Angela7 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Aug. 4, 2018
Decent price but definitely better options
Hotel location was handy about a 15 minute walk to the main square, although we were not staying in the hotel, when we arrived they brought us to a building around the back of the hotel - a converted house that had extra rooms in it and this is where we stayed, this was not clarified before staying and did not seem as safe as the hotel. I don't know how suitable the hotel entrance would be for children or elderly guests as the pavement ends for a good few meters before the hotel so you have to cross on a dangerous busy bend in the road or walk along the side of the road. There is a nice selection of food for breakfast, they say breakfast is 7-10, however if you turn up at 9.30 they refuse to let you sit inside, you have to sit in the garden which is not ideal when there are wasps around. If you ever want to eat in your room or on the patio of our room they charge you €1.50 to borrow a knife and fork which I was shocked at. They also have a very small snack area at the pool but you cannot pay with cash they will only let you put it on the tab for your room.
Léan4 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul. 26, 2018
EXCELLENT location.... great breakfast, great staff, our daughter loved the swimming pool ... walking distance to major landmarks ... Thank You!!
4 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Rita
Thank you!
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jul. 19, 2018
Basic but clean room. Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely swimming pool with very reasonably priced poolside bar serving snacks and lunch. Nice continental breakfast selection. Located on busy road but within a short walk from bars and cafes, and 20 minute walk to town centre. We had a family ground floor room in the annexe which had a large patio and was very quiet.
Helen3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jun. 8, 2018
Our first room was very noisy, so the staff changed our room and it was great@
4 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
4.0FairCheck-in Jun. 2, 2018
Traffic noise and pollution
Hotel directly on the main road very busy smelly and polluted area due to the cars miles coaches etc all hours of the day and night. Air conditioning was broken the majority of the stay alongside the fridge being broken and not replaced and not being able to open the balcony door because of the fumes and noise this was not a very relaxing hotel. The shower was tiny and not well planned which led to water flooding through to the bedroom on every use and again hot! The staff were very friendly and plesent however my main concerns werent really delt woth. The pool and the garden areas being present places of sanctuary. I wouldn't recommend staying here and I will not be going back.
Chris7 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 24, 2018
Nice hotel very good value for money Very friendly and helpful This was our 4th stay here and we will be going back
Sue10 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 19, 2018
week visit to Amalfi
no issues with hotel - great amenities - the only issue was location - its a good 20 minute walk into Sorrento
Brian7 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in May 12, 2018
Great hotel with lovely grounds. Friendly staff. Room lovely .rooms balcony overlooked bay of naples and mount vesuvieus. Breaksfast good. About 15 mins walk i to sorrento and about 10 i s to train station.
Trudi4 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Oct. 12, 2017
Nice hotel with plenty of parking!
Close to city so you could walk anywhere. The room was pleasant and comfortable ... AC did not work. There was a ton of on-site parking which was super nice.
Rebecca2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep. 28, 2017
A lovely family run hotel with the personal touch.
We changed rooms to the back as traffic noise is a problem at the front. However staff and rooms are amazing, The pool delightful and clean, with a nice bar. An unexpected bonus some nights was the offer of an evening meal with nice choices . Staff were knowledgeable and helpful for tours and information.
viv7 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep. 23, 2017
Lovely hotel, excellent staff
Excellent hotel, very friendly and helpful staff. It’s about a ten minute walk from the centre of town and the hotel is more reasonably priced than many in town. We had a lovely stay and would happily go back.
Christopher5 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug. 30, 2017
Lovely family run hotel
All the staff were very friendly and helpful in every way. I wluld definately recommend it.
5 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Aug. 27, 2017
the pool was about 200mtrs out of hotel grounds .
two cat running on tables people had breakfast outside I do not like thing like that apart from that ok I oppose.
chirpy4 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Aug. 24, 2017
Swimming pool surrounded by citrus trees
Wonderful stay at this small family run hotel. The garden facing rooms have sea and Vesuvius views. The swimming pool is surrounded by citrus trees and especially recommended at the pool cafe " David special number one and two " which include delicious local tomatoes and lemon leaves from the garden. Staff exceedingly friendly and helpful. Planning to go again
Soo 5 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug. 14, 2017
Fantastic family run hotel
The major attributing factor to the success of our holiday was down to the friendly and well organised staff at the Girasole Hotel, who made our stay so enjoyable. A family run hotel, we were made to feel welcome from the very start. The staff were so helpful and accommodating, it was a pleasure to return to the hotel each day after our excursions. The Hotel is very well positioned to get to places of interest and is within walking distance of Sorrento and St Angello. The hotel is attractive and very comfortable and we had a spotless, air conditioned family room with its own balcony overlooking amazing views! We also ‘slept like logs’ in the very comfortable beds. We enjoyed all our meals and the snacks we had at the pool. The pool is lovely - a great place to cool off in and relax after sightseeing! We want to thank all the staff who made our stay so special. Thank you Antonino, Rita and Monika for always being so warm and welcoming; to Tony, Karmine, Francesco, Mino and Eda for being so helpful and cooperative at meal times and other times too; to David and Eleanor for being so friendly and encouraging us to get onto the dance floor!! We would also like to thank Carol and the other cleaners who looked after our rooms so beautifully! As was mentioned in another review : ‘engage with the staff and they will certainly reciprocate’. Needless to say, we look forward to visiting you all again and staying at the Girasole Hotel at some point in the future.
Sue7 night trip
Verified Ebookers guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jul. 30, 2017
Lovely family run hotel
We stayed here for a week at the end of July and really loved it. The hotel is in a great location to walk to either Sorrento (20mins) or Sant'Agnello (15mins) as it sits in between both. You can also get the train from either place up to Pompeii, Herculaneum etc quite cheaply. We just had a bed and breakfast option but did eat in the restaurant a few times. The breakfast is a cold buffet, no cooked breakfast, but it was nice anyway. The evening meals are also fairly reasonable and were lovely. The pool area is great although you do have to pay extra for one of the better sun loungers. The pool itself is beautiful though and overlooks Vesuvius. The snack bar area down there was also great for a quick bite at lunch etc and was reasonably priced. We had a room around the corner from the main building which was a nice quiet block and was basic but clean and tidy. If you want a view though you should ask for a room in the main block. on a higher level, overlooking the garden. All in all we have a lovely holiday- the staff were amazing and couldn't do enough for you. We would definitely consider going back.
Dani7 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jul. 29, 2017
Pleasant
Pool area was perfect. The lady in reception was very welcoming, caring and sympatic. She realy was the main reason for us to like the hotel. Hotel was overall pleasant with free parking. highly convinient. Except the poor breakfast with no decent coffee, personnel of the dining room (the older) was aggresive and very much not nice. Gave a feeling they want you to finish eating and just go.
3 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jul. 19, 2017
Nice hotel with pool.
This hotel had wonderful staff, great pool set in a lemon grove, and the rooms came with a nice patio.
Joy3 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jul. 14, 2017
Choices choices
Staying in Sorrento and remaining solvent means you have to compromise. The hotel is a fair distance from Sorrento (30-35 minute walk) and situated on a very busy main road with little or no pavement at times. I'd say it was treacherous. S. Angelo is nearer and is a better choice for access to trains to Pompeii etc.. On the plus side, the rooms are largish, comfortable, clean and offer great views of Vesuvius. The big plus however is the pool. Essential if you are travelling with kids. For this reason, I would stay here again and choose to battle the lunatic moped riders over a less well equipped hotel in the centre of town. P.s. Eat out.
Jay7 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Sorry, there are no traveler photos for this property.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews