Important: This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local, and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Close
Skip to main content.
All properties in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 room, 2 adults

Byward Blue Inn

3-star3 stars
157 Clarence St., Ottawa, ON, K1N 5P7, Canada
  • Collect stampsYou can collect Hotels.com™ Rewards stamps here
9.0
Superb1,176 All our reviews have come from real guests who have stayed at the property.verified guest
reviews
Boutique Hotel
Rated top 1% in Ottawa
  • 10.0Bar
    • Bar is awesome
  • 9.3Location
    • Wonderful sightseeing
    • Great shopping
    • Great location
  • 9.0Breakfast
    • Tasty breakfast
  • 8.9Service
    • Fantastic service
Show more

What guests say

  • Nice balcony
  • Great shopping
  • Wonderful sightseeing
  • Great menu

Narrow reviews:

1,176 verified guest reviews

Guest rating

8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jun. 13, 2020
Ottawa overnight
Cute little hotel in a great location. Clean and comfortable
Glen1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by FM
Good evening Glen, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again very soon. Warm Regards, ByWard Blue Inn
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jun. 4, 2020
Ottawa for a weekend
Nice hotel.. unfortunately most amenities and services were not available due to the pandemic but staff did try their best. Check in was fast, didn't use the elevator because it was so slow. Rooms are nice, thermostat didn't work but they did have a heating/ air conditioning unit in the room already. Balcony was a plus. The staff even waived the late check-out fee, which says a lot. Very good location, in Byward market, near tonnes of dining options, 15 minutes to Parliament Hill (maybe less), and about 10 minutes to Major's Hill Park. I'll be back for sure.
Richard3 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Al
Dear Richard, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad that overall you had a good stay with us. We appreciate your kind words on the noted observations. We look forward to seeing you in the near future. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 22, 2020
Awesome but no tv
Everything was great except the tv didn’t work.
Warren1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Al
Dear Warren, We are sorry that you had issues with the TV. Apart from this, we are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We appreciate your kind words. Stay safe and revisit us again. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr. 3, 2020
Amazing rooms and stay.
It was an amazing stay knowing that with our on going problem in our country, i was able to go on my deck to have a cigaratte with out having to interact with anyone. Also haveing the underground parking was very convenient. In the room it was nice to have dishes and utensils if needed and the products to clean them. The room was very clean and comfortable and suitable for me and my daughter. Although the toillet paper was a little rough, the hotel could use softer toillet paper, my stay was extremely amazing.
Diane1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Al
Dear Diane, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a nice review. We are pleased to hear that you and your daughter had a good stay with us. We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again soon. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Mar. 21, 2020
World Traveler
Overall it was a good experience, it was worth the money
1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Al
We are happy that you had a good stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. Keep us in mind for future. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar. 13, 2020
This is an well situated, clean hotel with great amenities. One person at front desk was perhaps off her game. Everyone else was super friendly.
Debra2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Al
Dear Debra, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are pleased to read that everything was good with your stay. We appreciate your rating. Keep us in mind for future. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar. 8, 2020
Great location, the room was more then what I needed, and 5star for the breakfast.
Eric1 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by FM
Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return. Warm Regards, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar. 11, 2020
The room is great, clean and organized. I just wish there’s a long mirror to see your whole body after dressing up.
1 night trip
Verified Travelocity guest review
Response by Al
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad that you had a good stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar. 9, 2020
We were very happy with our stay at the Byward Blue Inn. It is located at the far end of the Byward Market so it is within easy walking distance of the market, The
Lorraine1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by FM
Good evening Lorraine, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return. Warm Regards, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb. 21, 2020
Great value for a very convenient location for a bit of skating and the Byward market. Room was not fancy but very clean and had all the amenities we needed. We enjoyed the really good included breakfast and complementary afternoon coffee and snacks time.
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Al
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you had a good stay with us. We appreciate your comments on the noted observations. Thank you for choosing us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar. 5, 2020
Cute hotel in nice location
Comfortable and clean room, location is great and very close to the market, the National Gallery, Parliament and downtown. Breakfast was great to have included with some different options to start the day. Room also has a fridge and kitchenette with sink and microwave. Staff is really kind and accomodating. Would definitely come back here next visit to Ottawa.
3 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Al
We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for sharing with us your thoughts about your recent stay. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, Byward Blue Inn
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Mar. 2, 2020
Great location. Amazing budget hotel with a hot breakfast and afternoon tea
4 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by FM
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return. Warm Regards, ByWard Blue Inn
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Feb. 23, 2020
Great little hotel in the Byward Market.
Catherine3 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Al
Dear Catherine, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We value your comments on the hotel. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Feb. 26, 2020
Homey comfort
Lovely little comfy place. Great breakfast. Close to key attractions. Enjoyed the kitchenette. Thank you for the kettle and teapot in the room!! Drinking water in the fridge. Loved it!!
Beverley2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by FM
Good evening Beverly, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return. Warm Regards, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb. 25, 2020
Nice place
It was a quaint place that was close to all for walking or short cab ride $10-15. Staff was helpful with suggestions for dining out and directions. Clean and quiet, breakfast was good with nice options. TV is small so...suggestion to owners to invest and upgrade the size of the TV
2 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Al
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review. We are happy that you had a good stay with us. We appreciate your suggestions on the noted observations. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Feb. 26, 2020
There is some flaking paint on the ceiling and interesting folk in the area but great location, friendly staff and cute room! Parking would have been nice but there is a Green P right beside the Inn.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Al
Thank you for completing the online survey. We are glad that overall you had a good stay with us. The ceiling is on the list to do. We thank you for your observations. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb. 20, 2020
Pleasantly Surprised
Comfortable, clean rooms. Awesome breakfast. Enjoyed the cozy, old fashioned feel.
4 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Al
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a nice review. We are happy that the hotel met your expectations. We appreciate your feedback. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb. 21, 2020
Excellent stay weather was awesome..staff were very helpful and served a beautiful breakfast..
Jody3 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Al
We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We work hard to make our guests apply and your kind words are greatly appreciated. Thank you for letting us serve you. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb. 24, 2020
Clean quiet convenient and inexpensive ... hard to park a big car thoufh. Breakfast really good, nice touches.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Al
We are happy that the hotel met your expectations. We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb. 19, 2020
Great location and reasonable facilities for the price point
4 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Al
We are gald that you had a good stay with us. We value your comments on the location and hotel. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb. 21, 2020
Nice clean boutique hotel in great location. Staff very good.
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by al
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are happy that the hotel met your expectations. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb. 21, 2020
The shape of rooms, the artwork, the delicious breakfast, courteous and helpful staff.
1 night romance trip
Verified Travelocity guest review
Response by FM
Good evening, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a detailed review. We are glad to learn you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return. Warm Regards, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb. 13, 2020
We are returning guests. Everything we need and a very short walk to Byward Market.
3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Al
Thank you for being a loyal guest and for sharing with us your thoughts about your recent stay. We are happy that you had a delightful stay with us. Thank you for choosing us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Feb. 14, 2020
Nice place to stay, great location, great breakfast, clean. Only disappointment was that it was very easy to hear other guests in the hallways and in nearby rooms.
3 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Al
We are glad to read that overall, you had a good stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for choosing us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Feb. 16, 2020
It was nice it wasn’t your regular chain hotel. Breakfast was hot that was nice. Didn’t like that there was no parking included that was unfortunate.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Al
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are happy that the hotel met your expectations. We appreciate your feedback. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb. 13, 2020
This hotel is like our home away from home. Cozy, comfortable, peaceful and friendly .
Lawrence3 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Al
Dear Lawrence, We are pleased to read that you had a delightful stay with us. We appreciate your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
4.0FairCheck-in Feb. 14, 2020
Only the breakfast was ok everything's other was BET!
Franke1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Al
Dear Franke, We are sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations inspite of our best efforts to provide good accommodation. We are glad however that you enjoyed the breakfast. Thank for your for your feedback on the noted observations. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb. 10, 2020
Very up to date easy parking and clean
James B1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Al
Dear James, Greetings and thank you for leaving us such a pleasant review. We are delighted that all was great with your recent stay. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb. 10, 2020
Nice, clean and comfortable! The continent breakfast is very impressive :)
Jing1 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Al
Dear Jing, Thank you for completing the online survey. We are happy that the hotel met your expectations. We appreciate your feedback. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Feb. 6, 2020
Good attention to detail, comfortable.
I stayed for two nights during a snowstorm. There are many excellent things about the Byward Blue Inn, and I will recommend it to others. There is a free afternoon snack of crackers, cheese and cookies (they call it tea, but there are very few black tea choices); the location close to the Hill and many good restaurants; the complimentary and varied breakfast, the uncarpeted floors in the rooms, the cleanliness of the rooms, the pillows and bedding, the kitchenette, the bathrobes, and overall good attention to detail. However, beware of the locking system: the front door code did not work (it was midnight and icy cold, though a concierge was immediately available, probably because some other guests were arriving late), and you must remember to lock your door when you go out. The shower took a while to settle into a comfortable temperature. I came without a car, but it looks as if there is underground parking. Or, I should say smells like that since car exhaust (and marijuana) could be smelt in the stairwell of the hotel. If you stick to the elevator, this will not be a problem. These few problems are not enough to discourage me from returning. Overall, it is a good place to stay.
Gertrude1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by FM
Good Morning Gertrude, Thank you for leaving such a detailed review of your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and wish to apologize for the front door code not working. We will take all your feedback under advisement. We hope you will be returning to visit us again soon. Warm Regards, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb. 6, 2020
Love this property..very clean ,staff is helpful, good breakfast and so close to all the shops and restaurant !
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Al
We are happy to hear that all was good with your stay. We appreciate your kind words. Keep us in mind for future visits. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb. 3, 2020
Everything you need for a pleasant stay. Breakfast was good and location is great. Excellent hotel especially for the price.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Al
We are pleased that the hotel met your expectations. We appreciate your feedback on the breakfast and location. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan. 29, 2020
I recommend it
I recommend it. Lots of little extras that add up to an excellent stay. Location is perfect, easy walk to all the highlights. Breakfast includes good hot and cold choices, and is available 7 to 10. They were able to accommodate early checkin for me, and checkout isn't until 12. Staff were genuinely pleasant and helpful. They have afternoon tea/snacks, and even set up a few tables for guests to bring their own food for dinner. All this and a comfortable, sunny room for a really reasonable rate! I'll be recommending it to others, and will go back whenever I get back to Ottawa.
Ruth2 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Al
Dear Ruth, Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review. We are delighted to hear that the hotel met your expectations. We work hard to make our guests happy and your kind words are greatly appreciated. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb. 1, 2020
The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was great with plenty of choice. We loved the fireplace and seating area. The location is convenient to most places.
Lorraine2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Al
Dear Lorraine, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are happy that the hotel met your expectations. We value your comments on the staff, breakfast and location. Keep us in mind for future visits. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan. 30, 2020
The hotel is small, but very clean. Staff was friendly, and helpfully, especially the housekeeping staff. The breakfast is amazing, with a wide variety of choices of foods. Parking is very limited. Hotel is close to lots of restaurants. It's walking distance to the Art gallery, and a longer walk to Parliament Hill.
Marianna4 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Al
Dear Marianna, We are happy to read that the staff was accommodating and that the hotel met your expectations. We work hard to make our guests happy and your kind words are greatly appreciated. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb. 3, 2020
Great location in the market. Know that parking is NOT included, although it says so on the website.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Al
We are happy that the hotel met your expectations. We appreciate your rating. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely ByWard Blue Inn
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Feb. 2, 2020
Breakfast was good and a lot of variety. Service was friendly,
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Al
We are happy to read that the hotel met your expectations. We hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb. 2, 2020
Lovely balcony with a view of Byward Market and the parliament buildings in the distance. Friendly, efficient check-in. Basic, but clean, rooms. Great location, walking distance to all the sites.
1 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Al
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your thoughts about your recent stay. We are happy that all was good with your stay. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jan. 30, 2020
We like the smaller footprint of this place. There seems to be a more personal atmosphere. The staff are friendly and accomodating. Our room was at the front of the building this time, facing the street. It was very noisey during the night- people yelling, swearing, fighting outside. In this general area we noticed alot more “street” people this year, hanging around various establishments, making a nuisence of themselves.
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Al
Thank you for sharing with us your thoughts about your stay. We are delighted that the hotel met your expectations. We hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jan. 28, 2020
Very good value! Convenient location. Good breakfast and afternoon tea included.
2 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Al
We are happy that all was in order with your stay. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan. 17, 2020
The only thing is I would recommend bath baths on the tub. Almost killed myself.
Jill4 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by FM
Good evening Jill, We apologize that you found the tub slippery and nearly had a fall. We do have bathmats available on demand at front desk. We hope you enjoyed your time in Ottawa and we look forward to your return. Warm Regards, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan. 18, 2020
Well located in the ByWard Market area. Parking on site is limited but there is a public parking lot adjacent to it which is quite convenient
SLFREA1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Al
Dear Slfrea, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are happy that the hotel met your expectations. We appreciate your rating. Thank you for choosing us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
6.0GoodCheck-in Jan. 12, 2020
The heating system is not providing enough heat and it feeling chilly inside.
Eric1 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Al
Dear Eric, We are sorry about that and we will take a look and see if there is any issues with the heat. Thank you for letting us know. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan. 10, 2020
We loved the location, the breakfast, the afternoon tea, the comfy bed with duvet, the little balcony, bathrobes and slippers, umbrellas to use, fridge and microwave in the room and dishes.
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Al
Thank you for leaving us a feedback. We are happy that the hotel met your expectations. We appreciate your kind words. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec. 9, 2019
Very clean, great breakfast spread, fantastic location, wonderful and helpful staff. Highly recommended.
Eileen2 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by FM
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return. Warm Regards, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan. 2, 2020
Staff were friendly. Their private sauna room just big enough for two people was fun to use after a nice walk around the Byward market.
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by FM
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return. Warm Regards, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan. 1, 2020
Great stay and fantastic service. The employees were very helpful and made our stay outstanding. Thank you.
George2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by FM
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return. Warm Regards, ByWard Blue Inn
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jan. 4, 2020
Predictably lovely
Predictably lovely. Comfortable, convenient, great coffee, good breakfast.
Richard1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by FM
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return. Warm Regards, ByWard Blue Inn
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec. 31, 2019
Love the location and the atmosphere inside the Inn.
3 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by FM
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return. Warm Regards, ByWard Blue Inn
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Dec. 16, 2019
Great price and location! Had a homey feel with added class, would definitely stay again
2 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by FM
Good evening, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return. Warm Regards, ByWard Blue Inn
Sorry, there are no traveler photos for this property.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews