Important: This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local, and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Close
Skip to main content.
All properties in Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 room, 2 adults
Moorfield Road, Cambridge, ENG, CB22 4PP, United Kingdom
  • Collect stampsYou can collect Hotels.com™ Rewards stamps here
8.8
Fabulous153 All our reviews have come from real guests who have stayed at the property.verified guest
reviews
  • 10.0
  • 8.0
  • 6.0
  • 4.0
  • 2.0

Narrow reviews:

153 verified guest reviews

Guest rating

10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov. 14, 2019
Great ‘old English’ pub. Fantastic staff and good food.
2 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
2.0PoorCheck-in Apr. 19, 2019
The room was very small. No A/C and could not open window. Had a fan but ran very inefficiently. The bed was the worst i have ever slept on. Washroom was clean and recently updated. The meal in the Pub was very good. And the Free Breakfast was excellent.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Mar. 27, 2019
I like everything except the heater in the room. They should change it. It makes small noise all the time, it's ok if you don't mind, but if you find difficult to sleep, that is annoying.
2 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review

The following English reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

8.0Very GoodCheck-in Mar. 9, 2020
Grandmas 80th birthday pit stop !
Pit stop en route to event in Cambridge. Friendly welcome. Good evening meal with professional service. Ancillary accommodation from main building comfortable and clean
steve1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb. 21, 2020
The staff were excellent, and the food was even better
Richard1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Feb. 10, 2020
Ace Fighter Pub; Mayday For The Rooms
Amazing pub, extremely friendly and attentive staff. Food was excellent and the choice of beers on tap was perfect. Breakfast in the morning was cooked to my request and served with a smile. The room felt as though it could do with a bit of a re-fresh. My only major disappointment was the mattress which definitely needed replacing asap. Could feel every spring and lump. I really enjoy the John Barleycorn and it isn't often that the rooms are available (there are only 4) so when I get the chance I stay there. But I hope they invest a little bit to make their guests feel as comfortable in the rooms as they do in the pub/restaurant.
Daniel1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan. 29, 2020
Characterful, good old fashioned pub. Excellent location with good parking behind.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Dec. 9, 2019
great country pub with rooms
Great stay great food only fault no WiFi in room but did have the furthered room from main building but great WiFi in the pub Would come back any time
Carol1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov. 9, 2019
So friendly, helpful, great breakfast. Lovely pub, and in a great location for the air museum
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov. 6, 2019
Warm friendly and good food too
The moment we arrived at The John Barleycorn we were met by Nick with a warm welcome - he showed us to our room which was nice and warm and very welcoming very clean and a bathroom with nice toiletries and lovely white fluffy towels - we stayed 3 nights and ate in the pub each night the food is very nice we couldn't fault it at all it was delicious British home cooking and very generous portions - each evening the tables were all full with locals eating - and that says it all it is obviously well known in the area - every member of staff was friendly and smiley - we will certainly be returning Nick was very friendly and made us feel like old friends every day and Josh was the same when I complimented him on the food he said it was a pleasure to cook for us - Cooked breakfast was awesome but I could only manage one day as I was still full from the previous evenings meal We were there to visit the IWM at Duxford and it was just over a mile away we also used the Park and Ride and visited Cambridge which Nick told us about and what was good to see - Nick and Josh what a good team
Kathryn3 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov. 4, 2019
Thatched pub what’s not to like!! Great food fantasticly friendly staff will be booking again
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
2.0PoorCheck-in Oct. 1, 2019
A very disappointed client
A picturesque country inn,with a nice bar/ dining area served by pleasant young staff. BUT, room 4 is situated next to a very noisy water heater which cuts in continually day and night, so very little sleep. The lamb steak was as tough as the sole on a farm labourer’s boot, and tasted of something he had stood in on the yard!. I wasn’t going to mention that the toilet basin was stained by the previous tenants usage, but then why not?. I received a reduction of £25 on the room cost, and was not charged for the lamb.
Derek2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Sep. 9, 2019
Lovely stay
Had a lovely stay. Good food, friendly staff and perfect for visiting Duxford IPW museum
Karen2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Sep. 7, 2019
Lovely place, very helpful staff, we had a lovely stay, definitely recommended
Vikki Please select your1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug. 30, 2019
Lovely stay, really great staff. The pub was lovely and food was great too. Rooms are smallish but comfortable, beautifully remodeled bathrooms.
2 night romance trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Aug. 28, 2019
Hotel location great, food and pub great standard. Tv in room very small, and old. Booked a double room but got a twin. Not enough shielding in bathroom to put toiletries .
Mike1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jul. 19, 2019
Adequate accommodation, very helpful staff and very good food.
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug. 27, 2019
Comfortable good food welcoming staff al was very good but it
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug. 12, 2019
very comfortable and good food.
1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Aug. 9, 2019
historic pub
historic pub . inside was like a museum with lots of interesting pictures . rooms are in annexe behind the pub. friendly staff . great full English breakfast . a short distance from Duxford air museum
1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Aug. 6, 2019
Overpriced
Not my style to leave a negative review, but this warrants it I’m afraid. There is one word to describe this hotel.....overpriced. I travel a lot for work and I have my pick of hotels, within a certain budget. I don’t consider £100 to be a huge amount but considering the room I was given, I would have expected more. The mattress was very uncomfortable, overly springy with little support. The room was pokey and sparsely decorated. The TV was smaller than an A4 piece of paper and in such a position that the screen couldn’t be properly viewed; I use a towel to tilt it forward so I could see it. The WiFi provision was average as it kept dipping in and out - a major problem considering there is no phone signal there. On the plus side, it was clean and tidy. The bathroom was fine albeit the water pressure at 7am was only just above a dribble. For the money I have stayed in hotel that have a pool and gym with rooms far superior to this. Plus points were the breakfast, which was delicious, and the staff who were beyond friendly. Such a shame as I see this as a missed opportunity. It’s a lovely little village locale, but they clearly cash in on a location; being so close to the Cambridge BioTech Parks, but with some modernisation and some TLC, it could be so much more. Sorry!
james1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul. 24, 2019
Lovely picturesque inn with great local character. The room was nice and quiet despite overlooking the beer garden! Breakfast was delicious and it was nice that it was included.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jul. 20, 2019
It is always interesting to stay in a historic building like this. However, we found our room small and rather drab and dark. The standard of cleanliness left a lot to be desired too. The restaurant is of the period with interesting artefacts for the plane enthusiast. We enjoyed our food and thought it of average value. The staff are friendly and helpful, especially Jack. Very convenient for the IWM at Duxford.
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jul. 14, 2019
Very pretty accommodation and great service
This was a lovely place. The restaurant was especially good with more than just ‘typical pub grub’ on the menu. Rooms were clean and staff were friendly. We were disappointed that we only stayed one night - we should have stayed longer.
Susan1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jun. 13, 2019
well worth a visit
good food good staff lovely room nice price would stay again
frank1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 28, 2019
Lovely pub, in a quiet village. Plentiful good food. Nice location. Can't fault it.
2 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 23, 2019
It suited us just fine for a single night before visiting the IWM
1 night romance trip
Verified Ebookers guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in May 21, 2019
Concerned about door latch from inside. Unable to get out of room. The staff came immediately, but then said they would call manager and then in did not get resolved. It was a one night stay so I am thinking they were waiting till our departure.
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in May 13, 2019
Lovely thatched inn serving excellent meals. Lovely garden to sit in. Rooms are in the garden. Excellent breakfast. Service friendly. Remote not working on TV and reported it but not put right over the 3 days we stayed.
3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 11, 2019
The staff were friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble, room was clean and tidy. Food was excellent.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 7, 2019
Wonderfully traditional English village pub, the friendly staff made me feel very welcome. Easy to find with great parking .. no problem there. Room was perfect for my one night stay, comfy and very clean and the breakfast was spot on. If you are visiting the Duxford Air Museum this is a great place to stay if needs be as it just a few easy miles away.
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr. 25, 2019
This is a quaint, thatched pub with rooms that we would be very happy to return to. The staff were very friendly and professional. The food at dinner and breakfast was excellent
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Apr. 23, 2019
Excellent location, lovely 1600s pub, superb food and staff. The only problem was the rooms are in the beer garden, my room was no more than 10 feet from the outside tables so sleep was impossible until the pub closed and customers went home, they were a loud bunch laughing and joking for hours.
2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr. 12, 2019
It was a lovely old pub, food and staff fantastic, nothing was too much trouble
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr. 4, 2019
Beautiful building, squeaky clean rooms, lovely staff (and management!) and perfectly kept beer. What more can you want? Oh yes, it's a medium stone's throw from IWM Duxford.
MikeandBarbara2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar. 23, 2019
Fantastic little village pub with comfortable rooms, good food and friendly staff. Will definitely be visiting again on my next trip through Duxford.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar. 8, 2019
Long Weekend Break.
Nick and all the staff were really friendly and helpful, nothing was to much trouble. The Inn itself is delightful as was our room. Food is absolutely amazing! breakfast is huge and will set you up for the day. 10 mins from IWM Duxford and an ideal base to explore the area. We had a wonderful stay and would not hesitate to recommend The John Barleycorn. We hope to return in the Autumn.
2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb. 28, 2019
Perfect
The room was nice and cosy and quiet. Check in was quick and easy. The staff friendly and helpful. The food delicious. Overall a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Would highly recommend.
Gillian2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan. 18, 2019
Just had a fantastic stay at the John Barlycorn at duxford,friday through to sunday.we were made to feel very welcome,all staff were friendly,food was fantastic,accomadation was very comfy,and clean.will definitely be going back there,thank you soo much
Michael1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan. 10, 2019
Excellent experience- nothing was too much trouble, staff friendly and genuinely felt like you were being looked after. They have the balance perfect. Food also excellent
Robert2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan. 5, 2019
Our room was warm and had a very well filled hospitality tray, also a bottle of water. We had a meal on the evening which was beautifully cooked with good ingredients, and served in a friendly, efficient, and helpful manner. The meal and wine were reasonably priced and good value for money. At breakfast, there didn't seem to be any fruit juice, or cereal on offer, and we were offered only the 'main' breakfast options. However, this was also well cooked with good portions.
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec. 23, 2018
A great old inn. Well managed. Lots of atmosphere. Great staff. For us it’s a must on our journeys south.
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec. 7, 2018
Stayed here twice and perfect on both occasions. Charming Inn, good accommodation, extremely helpful staff and owner, and fantastic food. Excellent value.
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov. 22, 2018
We were going to a funeral at Cam Valley Crematorium and this hotel was perfectly located. And what could have been a sad occasion was made enjoyable by the stay at this lovely inn. The food in the restaurant was fabulous
JACQUIE2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Nov. 21, 2018
Room clean and fine but lumpy pillows a pain in the head literally
Alan1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov. 10, 2018
Food,Drink,History,Character,do you want more?
Absolutely brilliant at The John Barleycorn food,drink, mine host, also timed it right for the 100 year celebration at the Imperial War Museum and worth it any other time as within 2 miles away and finished off with a trip into Cambridge via Trumpington Park & Ride , shops, more food and drink, what a way to finish a weekend before returning home.
Marianne1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Oct. 7, 2018
NICE HOTEL WITH WW2 CONNECTIONS
Nice hotel, nice room, nice staff, good food. Strong historic WW2 connections with nearby Duxford, ex-RAF base, and present Aviation Museum.
Walter1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Oct. 11, 2018
Wonderful Historic Inn and Pub
We stayed for two nights. The room was adequate and proximity to the Imperial War Museum was ideal. People were all very friendly and helpful. The pub was filled with Mostly locals who made us feel welcome. But the best thing?!! Chef James puts out a fantastic dining experience! Some of the best meals we have had in a month of traveling the UK
Judith2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct. 1, 2018
It was lovely clean room and friendly staff.Who could ask for anything more
Valerie1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct. 1, 2018
Would stay again
The room was lovely, food was good. The staff were great.
Arran1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Sorry, there are no traveler photos for this property.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews