Important: This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local, and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Close
Skip to main content.
All properties in Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 room, 2 adults

Grand Pier Guest House

3.5-star3.5 stars
11 Madeira Place, Brighton, England, BN2 1TN, United Kingdom
  • Collect stampsYou can collect Hotels.com™ Rewards stamps here
8.8
Fabulous75 All our reviews have come from real guests who have stayed at the property.verified guest
reviews
  • 9.7Service
    • Fantastic service
  • 9.1Cleanliness
    • Clean
  • 8.9Location
    • Great location
  • 4.5Comfort
    • More comfort would be nice
Show more

What guests say

  • Clean rooms
  • Friendly service
  • Impressive bathroom
  • Rooms could be larger

Narrow reviews:

75 verified guest reviews

Guest rating

10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug. 17, 2018
Fabulous location, very friendly and attentive staff. Clean and comfortable
Miranda2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul. 16, 2018
Highly recommend!
I had a lovely and comfortable stay at the Grand Pier Guesthouse. The location was central and right across from the Brighton Pier. The hosts were extremely accommodating to make sure everything about my stay was good, including breakfast and checking in/out. I would definitely stay here again or recommend the place to others.
3 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Apr. 10, 2018
A few improvements would make it so much better.
My biggest problem with this hotel is that the windows of my room were literally straight onto the street so that everyone walking by could look in. There were no adjustable blinds or anything so that meant that I had to keep the roman blinds closed all the time. This made me feel somewhat claustrophobic and even though the hotel is steps away from the seaside I couldn't enjoy it from there. A very slight adjustment would make a huge improvement.
K2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review

The following English reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

8.0Very GoodCheck-in Oct. 11, 2019
Great Stay
I stayed in the guest house during mid October on a weekend break in a single room with en suite, facilities. Apart from the partly peeling paint on the ceiling in the shower unit and some minor decorative issues around the base of the shower, my room was clean and cozy. A fan heater was provided as it was not cold enough to turn on the central heating but the was a little bit chilly. The full English breakfast provided was lovely and the service from the staff was friendly. I would definitely recommend staying here. Access to local facilities are are less than a minutes walk as is the sea front.
Sharon2 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct. 18, 2019
Excellent accommodation.
Host was very courteous and polite. Lovely breakfast. Room and building very clean.
Scott2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct. 11, 2019
Phone
I had a great time but there is no in-house phone so I could not book a wake-up call unless you see the owner's so missed breakfast and meeting
Anthony2 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug. 24, 2019
The friendly and welcoming service., particularly from Abi. Breakfast was excellent and the location was great. Good stay!!
3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug. 16, 2019
Satisfied custimer who would book this hotel again
Hotel was very close to the beach. We had a lovely clean room with tea and coffee facilities and a good shower, breakfast was great and very friendly staff.
Tracey2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jul. 26, 2019
Very close to the seafront, and a Harvester restaurant. Lovely breakfast. Extremely comfortable bed.
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun. 21, 2019
A period property very close to most of Brighton's amenities and night life, with extremely helpful and attentive staff.
3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in May 26, 2019
The property inside and out needs a face lift the only thing good out of the stay was the staff being very helpful
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 20, 2019
Wonderful stay at the Grand Pier Guest House!
When I first planned my trip to Brighton, I spent a lot of time on hotels.com checking out many different guest houses. I’m happy to report I made the right choice. GP is literally a minute’s walk from the sea. Rick and Rosie are two of the nicest people you could meet! Every morning, Rick would cook a full English breakfast and he remembered my preferences immediately - personal touches like this made my stay much more enjoyable! The room was clean and quiet, and most importantly, comfortable. Check in and out were quick and painless; I was even able to check in early. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay at the GP again!
Shane4 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 18, 2019
Was extremely helpful
tracey2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in May 7, 2019
The Grand Pier is well situated and close to everything. Room was small but very clean. The staff were very helpful. I received a text message asking what time I would be arriving and although I was 2 hours early my room was available. Overall a pleasant stay.
3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 10, 2019
Had a great time at grand pier room was very clean & fresh breakfast was great will definitely been visiting again
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Apr. 19, 2019
The hotel is beautifully maintained and the staff are so very friendly, however the size of the rooms are tiny! It’s not possible to fit 2 people comfortably in the room/bed it’s not a full size double and the shower cubicle is very small also.
Mrs Mary swift2 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr. 12, 2019
Great property close to the sea with friendly staff
4 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Feb. 15, 2019
Great stay in Brighton
Great little guest house, very handy location, nice and close to everything. They even called me to remind me I needed to change my parking ticket.
John2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec. 14, 2018
Excellent
An excellent stay. The Grand Pier Guest House offers a very welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. A perfect location close to all local amenities and the Pier. The staff went above and beyond during our stay including a very lovely cooked breakfast. Facilities in the hotel were very clean and accessible. We will definitely be coming back again!
Marianne2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Oct. 19, 2018
It was a nice clean B&B friendly staff and very central
Zara2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Oct. 12, 2018
Good guest house close to everything
*Clean *Excellent hosts *Walking distance from beach and restaurants and bars *only disadvantage was room very warm and not enough air comes through the small window which opens, but they do provide you with a fan which was excellent and we used it a lot. We found bed slightly uncomfortable but that is preference obviously. *very tasty cooked breakfast *would recommend
2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep. 28, 2018
A lovely find
We stayed for 2 nights. The rooms are fairly small but immaculately clean. The owners are really friendly and helpful- we bought our parking permits from them - a lot cheaper than the multi-storey parking. Breakfast was cooked fresh each morning and cooked to perfection. We would definitely stay again
Kirsty2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct. 5, 2018
Great stay at Grand Pier
Great location close to Pier and Royal Pavillion. Friendly welcome. Room clean. Great shower. Lovely breakfast. We were at a wedding in the Royal Pavillion so was ideal. The £10 for 24hr street parking was really useful. Others staying at Travelodge were paying £20 a day with discount! Recommend highly
Linda2 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Sep. 13, 2018
Nice hotel close to all attractions
Nice welcome and our bags were carried up the stairs. Good size room a litttle tired but spotlessly clean. Good breakfast. Staff very helpfull. So close to all attractions and the sea you dont need a car to get about.
Marilyn3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Sep. 11, 2018
Good Location B&B
Excellent location fairly central. 2nd visit here for work rather than tourist. Rooms / en-suite are small but guess this is typical of B&B's in Brighton. However they are clean and cosy with complimentary bottled water, usual tea / coffee facilities. Brighton in general is a challenge with car parking thou a (chargeable) street parking permit is available on check-in for the ones lucky to find a space outside the B&B. Didn't try the breakfast as was served from 8am to 9am only.
2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep. 8, 2018
Nice hotel close to the pier and shops
1st time to Brighton found it very good can not Waite to go again
John2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Aug. 17, 2018
Short break
Very welcoming and rooms very clean. The staff were very attentive although they were not on site all day.
Marilyn3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug. 17, 2018
Nice guest house clise to amenities
Lively stay but parking can be difficult will come by train next time
2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Aug. 17, 2018
Overall a pleasant stay
Overall I enjoyed my stay. The bed was very comfortable and the room well sound proofed from the noise of a busy weekend of late night partying outside at the nearby bars. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. They were very accommodating and helpful in catering for my food allergies. Only downside was that the building felt in need of a makeover for instance the paintwork in my bathroom seemed incomplete and there were sections of plasterboard missing near the shower leaving pipes etc exposed.
Graham2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug. 3, 2018
Quiet, clean, lovely little hotel, less than 5 minutes’ walk from the pier. Really kind and lovely staff.
3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug. 4, 2018
very convenient for beach and close to the shops
got there late as transport was delayed, and had to make my way through hordes of people, as it was the pride parade in brighton, other than that everything was fine
gwen3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jul. 11, 2018
Small room but cozy. Location very convenient to get to stuff in Brighton. Worked fine for a solo traveler. Has full English breakfast cooked to order
Adam3 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul. 23, 2018
Very nice guest house
Warm welcome. Room was spotlessly clean , as was the bathroom. Fresh towels and bedding every day. There was even an occillating floor fan, which helped a lot in the hot weather. Tea and coffee making facilities were included in the room . Dining room was also spotless and a large range of breakfast cereals,,fruit & yoghurt were available as well as a full English breakfast The staff were very friendly and courteous at all times. I would definately recommend this guest house, which is only a few minutes walk from the sea front.
Adrian4 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul. 20, 2018
Perfect !!
Senior lady, request for room location with few stairs superb ground floor clean and comfortable room,breakfast and overall care and service could not fault 5star+++++ many thanks certainly see you again
mumsy2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 31, 2018
Excellent location only one thing a light over bathroom mirror for shaving. Other than that already looking to book for next year.
4 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 12, 2018
Great location and price with friendly staff
Perfect location, clean, comfortable room, good price, friendly helpful staff. Parking is difficult and expensive but we parked for free in Ovingdean and walked in along the undercliff then caught the bus back to the car.
TomRomance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 2, 2018
Relaxed & Friendly Atmosphere
Relaxing stay at a lovely b&b in a lovely location. Enjoyed the made to order full English breakfast - the veggie option was a nice surprise. Really relaxed, friendly atmosphere that really helped us to enjoy our visit.
DavidRomance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Apr. 15, 2018
Friendly welcome and spotless room
I was made to feel very welcome, and my room albeit tiny was spotless. The bathroom was good with a really nice shower. Breakfast was delicious and I appreciated the bowl of fruit.
3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr. 7, 2018
Lovely Stay
We had a lovely stay in this hotel, the owners were very nice and very helpful. The room was clean and tidy but very small. The downside to this stay was the parking, this is a Permit Only which we were able to purchase for £10 each 24 hours, only problem there was nowhere to park as there were no spaces so for one night we had to leave the car on the seafront at 8pm and make sure we moved it before 9am. We would recomend this hotel to people who do not have their own transport, it was a comfy stay with breakfast included in the price.
Vanessa2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr. 3, 2018
Clean, comfortable and friendly stay
Very friendly and clean hotel, we had sea facing room on the front. Breakfast was good and hotel is located close to Brighton centre. Tip! Car Parking a bit of a nightmare but that is not the hotel's fault - use their £10 parking vouchers and try going a street back or 2 from the front to find a space.o ttefVery cloas
PaulRomance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jan. 1, 2018
Lovely Place
Lovely hotel clean and plesent, staff was lovely especially the cleaner. Room and bathroom was nice and quiet! Breakfast was a fry up which was nice and the hotel was really close to the pier! The parking is a bit annoying took a while to get a space paid £10 for 24 hours you can get a permit from the hotel.
JadeOther trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Dec. 7, 2017
Pleasant stay
Comfortable and clean
Mr S2 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov. 3, 2017
Comfortable bedroom. Good breakfast.
Thomas2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Oct. 13, 2017
A nice stay
Small rooms but spotlessly clean. Tea, coffee and complimentary water. Pleasant hosts, but did not see much of them except at breakfast. Breakfast good but dining room a bit shabby and extremely small. Location good
Julie2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct. 2, 2017
Fab fab
Fab location spotless and an very comfortable room couldn't ask for more.
Yvonne1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug. 4, 2017
Amazing experience
I have nothing bad to say about this hotel whatsoever. Service and check-in was prompt and very professional. The room was very clean and had great amenities and bathroom facilities. The staff were friendly and very accommodating and the rooms were a very good size. The breakfast was great with a range of option available and it is right near the beach and in a very busy and vibrant area of Brighton.
2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul. 13, 2017
Walk to all. Would stay again
The room was clean and nicely decorated. An electric fan in the room came in handy for those hit summer nights. Would recommend sharing only with someone yiu are okay being close to. As the room, and shower are very small. Free full breakfast provided is a plus! The owners are veey friendly. Would stay again. Gave a good rating, opposed to excellent on comfort due to the tight quarters. The bed was very comfortable though. Electric kettle, tea and coffee in the room and 2 bottles waters. It is also centrally located in walking distance to the pier, sea front, The Lanes shopping and food.
Natasha2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul. 17, 2017
Lovely hotel
Highly recommend, great location, very clean and comfortable room and breakfast soooo good. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Had a lovely stay.
Other trip
Verified Expedia guest review

The following reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

8.0Very GoodCheck-in Apr. 19, 2019
Nice hotel
Small and cosy hotel with nice staff. Good located for some days touristing in Brighton. Good breakfast.
Ulf2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Aug. 30, 2018
Trevligt litet hotell
Trevligt litet hotell med vänlig personal. Rent och snyggt och bra läge nära stranden. Jag kan tänka mig att bo där igen.
Helene3 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Sorry, there are no traveler photos for this property.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews